Interview: Garrett Robinson

Hello world! Today with us, we have, the bestselling author of indie fantasy “Nightblade”, Mr. Garrett Robinson!
And the good news is that you can now read it for free! Just follow this link!
HERE you can find all of his books!

The most beautiful interview ever. The second answer brought tears to my eyes…


 

12769446_1129317493775705_334757604_n

Hi! Thanks for being with us here!

  1. Say something about yourself. Something about your inner life.

I’d rather make enough money to survive, and own everything I do, than make a whole lot of money but have my work be under someone else’s control. That’s why I’m an indie artist. I’m not saying I’ll never work with a publisher or a big film studio, but if I do, it will be on my terms. Until then, I’ll have complete ownership over everything I do.

2. The best moment of your life? Apart from your writing career.

Definitely the birth of my first child, my daughter Dawn. Nothing will ever match hearing her first cry after she was born. I’ve never cried that hard in my life.

3. Biggest lesson you’ve learned in life so far? What is your philosophy of life?

I often forget this lesson. But the most important thing I’ve learned in my life is to appreciate how good things are for me. And that lesson doesn’t apply to everyone. But I will often find myself getting really resentful, or discouraged, or feel like nothing I’m doing is working. And the one thing that always cheers me up is (weirdly) asking myself “What’s the worst that could happen?” Because if I think about it, the “worst” usually isn’t all that bad. And so it’s worth it to just keep going, because I don’t have to be afraid of failure any more.

4. What book are you reading at the moment? Tell us something about it.

Right now I’m reading Star Wars: Aftermath, by Chuck Wendig. It’s Star Wars, so that’s cool. It’s a story with no Jedi, and they’re my big draw to the Star Wars universe. But, it’s a really well-written, gripping story, and so I’m enjoying myself a lot. I’ve never engaged with a Star Wars story that didn’t have Jedi, so this is a nice surprise for me.

5. What books and authors have influenced your writing the most?

Tolkien. First, last, and always. I’ve read The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings more than a dozen times each, and The Silmarillion several times. He’s just my favorite writer, and probably always will be.

6. When did you first consider yourself a writer? What was that particular incident?

I considered myself a writer in my teens, when I wrote about a quarter of a million words in high school. Then, when I tried to make a career as an author, I realized I wasn’t actually very much of a writer at all. It wasn’t until I finished my third book that I really considered myself a writer, and realized that it was a career that was going to take me where I wanted to go.

7. Did you ever think that this is what you wanted to do with your life when you were younger?

In my teens, yes. Then, after high school, I lagged a bit, and wanted to get into filmmaking instead. Now, I still want to be a full-time filmmaker one day. But writing is paying my bills, and I love it very, very much.

8. Where do you write? Show us your desk but don’t clean it up.

Here it is! In all its glory!

This is my desk, in my office, which is a good-sized bedroom in my house.

8. Do you have to do anything to get into the zone when you write? Where do you get your ideas from?

I have to listen to the band Rise Against while I write. Sometimes I can listen to other music—movie soundtracks are my favorite—but usually it’s Rise Against.

My ideas come from everywhere. I never have a problem coming up with ideas. I have more trouble actually writing the damn books.

9. What’s your favorite from your own works?

My own favorite book of mine is Rebel Yell. It’s a literary novel, and I feel like it…means something. I mean, all my books mean something to me, of course. But that book is the one where message is most important, and I told that message as well as I possibly could. Of course, since it’s a literary novel, it sells almost no copies, ever.

10. Do any of your stories feature you as a character?

Nope! Although Calvin from Midrealm is the closest character in my books to being me.

11. What’s your number one secret about writing? Do you have any advice for aspiring writers? A message?

Sit down. Write. Just get the words out. Whatever you have to do to get the words out, do it. You will never become a better writer without writing—a lot.

12. Please suggest us an author for our next interview.

A buddy of mine, Michael La Ronn, would be a great interview guest.

 

Thank you so much for being with us. Hope you had a good time!

 


That’s about it! Hope you enjoyed this interview. I know, I did!

Till next time!
Munazza Bangash

WordPress
Desirable Purity Beauty Blog
Desirable Purity Author Blog

Facebook
Desirable Purity Makeovers
Desirable Purity

Twitter
DesirablePurity

Instagram
DesirablePurity

The only email address you can reach me at is Munazzabangash@hotmail.com

3 thoughts on “Interview: Garrett Robinson

  1. Pingback: February 2016 Update – what I’m watching, reading, listening to, chaos, a lesson, behind the scenes, updates and top posts! | Munazza Bangash

Drop a comment

