My First Novel—Choosing The Title

I’m sure many of you are familiar with the title of my first book. I just wanted to make it a “release” in which I’ll make you familiar with the title, giving you the reasons as to why I chose this and what inspired me. This is something that can help many writers out there.

In the upcoming posts about anything in general, I’ll keep giving you little excerpts, sneak peeks, quotes from the book, how I crafted the book, and news to everything happening behind the scenes. So today, I’m releasing the title, though many of you already know as I’ve said it many times, and give you some behind the scenes.

I know it’s a little early to discuss my upcoming novel as I’m still on the draft. Still on the draft because I have exams to study for. Once over, I’m sure I’ll be done with the draft in a month or two and then find an agent. I’ll make sure to include all you guys on this journey.

Let It Fall

Let me say this that I’m completely in love with this title! I have no idea why. This describes the story in such a twisted way, that for many, it’s sometimes impossible to grasp why I chose this title.

Elements: There are elements in the book that gives away one phase of the title. I won’t reveal too much, but it has to do with two types of weather. I repeat, two types of weather. One, as you’ve guessed it already, the rainfall. As for the other, it’s…you can say…”anti-rainfall”.

It’s such an essential part of the novel, the weather, that it describes the whole personalities of my characters. In the novel, the occurrence of these weathers describes the reality of life, and how one can mistake it for something else.

And then it’s not entirely about the weather. Let It Fall, as in, don’t hold on too tight.
I wouldn’t want to reveal more than that, now that I’m still on the draft. I’ll keep revealing slowly.

Inspiration: What’s your favorite song? Off the topic? I don’t think so.

My favorite song is Please Don’t Stop The Rain by James Morrison. So, it goes something like this:

Let it fall, let it fall, let it fall,
Please don’t stop the rain
Please don’t stop the rain

So, now you know what I was talking about. This is where I got the inspiration from. The moment I heard the song, I got the idea for my novel. And since then I’ve changed it around so much, that for once, I was afraid that this title would no longer be appropriate. I was broken, ’cause I loved it so much. But then it hit me. It fit perfectly!

Nope, not saying anything else for why it fit perfectly. 😛


So, this is it! Please, drop your thoughts in the comment box below.

Thanks for stopping by. I hope this thing helped you in choosing the title for your next big novel.

Love you all!
Munazza Bangash

Drop a comment

