Green-eyed Monster of Jealousy—Author’s Confession.

Many people say that they don’t get jealous. Some say this out for honesty, and some out of secrecy. But, the truth is that it’s a human trait that they get jealous; even if it’s just a little bit. Even if it’s barely there, but it is.

Some get jealous over love, over crush, over romance. Some get jealous over relations and advantages. Some get jealous over success and achievements. And the truth is that no person is free of this emotion.

Let’s first know what Jealousy is. According to Psychology Today, “Jealousy is a complex emotion that encompasses many different kinds of feelings that range from fear of abandonment to rage to humiliation. Jealousy can strike both men and women when they perceive a third-party threat to a valued relationship, it can be a problem among siblings competing for parental attention, or envy for a wealthier more successful friend. Conventional wisdom holds that jealousy is a necessary emotion because it preserves social bonds. But jealously usually does more harm than good to relationships, and can create relationship conflict and violence.”

So, now that we know what jealousy is and that it’s a complex emotion that a person has no control over, I’d confess. I do get jealous like everyone else.

I don’t get jealous over wealthy people; because I know that it’s not that hard to get. I don’t get jealous over success; because I know that I can also achieve it. I don’t get jealous over beauty because it fades eventually. I don’t get jealous over any kind of love if I trust the person.

What really threats me, or what awakens the green-eyed monster within me is not even when I see someone talented beyond belief, it’s when he doesn’t have to work for it. Now, I know that it’s all sorts of wrong and I shouldn’t feel like this and respect their talents because they’re great people. I know! I respect the talent. But, that’s what makes me mad. If they had worked on being so great, I would have seen them as inspiration not a threat. But, when a person gains success over nothing, that’s when I get jealous and envious. It’s not fair to all those people who work so much to achieve their goals.

It’s not the talents I get jealous over, it’s the people changing due to it. And I guess, it’s not even jealousy, it’s anger. Because, there is one more part to it. If the ‘Successful for nothing’ person is down to earth, I have nothing against him. But, the line is crossed when that person is proud and rude. That’s when it hurts the most. It’s just not fair.

Oh god! It wasn’t supposed to be a rant. Now that it is, I shall turn around and hide my face while all of you laugh at me.

 

5 thoughts on “Green-eyed Monster of Jealousy—Author’s Confession.

  1. Pingback: I’m Not Jealous | janetkwest

  2. Pingback: My Best Posts For You | DESIRABLE PURITY

  3. Pingback: Misconceptions | Unspoken Truths

  4. Pingback: Oh Look, The Jealous Factor Creeping In | Kate's Bookshelf

  5. Pingback: Jealousy

Drop a comment

