Shelter [Demons (ImagineDragons) Re-make]

I fell face first when I was two.
My mother caught me; made me smile through blue.
I remember her brown and caring eyes.
Feeling secure, I rose my wings high and flew.

This is the shelter that everyone talks about.
This is the safety that you are nothing without.
No matter what we think, all is gone in a blink.
I wrote it down after dipping my pen in ink.

When you feel my rage. Gone through what I have had.
I see that shelter no more over my head.
My guard is up. Get close and you’d regret.
I’m getting it too bad. I’m getting it too bad!

When I was five, my father’s eyes glowed,
as I held his hand and we crossed the road.
I remember the lines on his forehead,
when I cried and his worries showed.

When I was with him I didn’t have to find a cure.
I felt safe, I felt good, I felt guarded, secure.
No matter what we think, all is gone in a blink.
I wrote it down after dipping my pen in ink.

When you feel my rage. Gone through what I have had.
I see that shelter no more over my head.
My guard is up. Get close and you’d regret.
I’m getting it too bad. I’m getting it too bad!

Drop a comment

